Arrival in Italy

Well I did it. I made it to Italy. Walking away from Mom, Dad and Xavier at the airport was horrible but the thought of missing my flight helped me to leave them.

I didn’t really have much trouble going through the Indianapolis airport. Ironically, the hardest part was checking in my bags and I had my parents to help me. Then I messed up going through security, but the lady kindly told me what to fix so it was all good. I arrived in Charlotte and speedily walked toward my gate (which just happened to be on the opposite side of the airport that I had arrived at). I get to my gate and wait about 20 minutes until we can start lining up. I realize that everyone around me seems to be speaking another language, and it freaked me out a bit. Waiting to board the plane, though, I was reminded of “college home” as two guys in front of me talked about being from Cincinnati.

The ride from Charlotte to Madrid was about 8 hours. I wasn’t worried because in my mind this was nothing compared to the flight to South Korea four years ago (because apparently I consider myself a world traveler?). Well, turns out the possibility of me growing taller in the past four years is pretty likely because I could not sleep in the same position I did on the flight to South Korea. I could not fit, and I couldn’t just lean on the random guy next to me, sadly. Somehow, I fell asleep but I don’t know how or for how long. My flight consisted of eating my airplane dinner and breakfast, watching a movie, sleeping somehow, and then the eight hours is up. (Side note: I felt like crap after I woke up and thought I might be sick, but just kept reminding myself to just breathe – good advice from my Dad when we said goodbye).

Anyway, we (I met up with three other kids from the program to travel from Charlotte to Bologna together) get off the plane and the Madrid airport is HUGE. The weird part, but nice for confused State travelers like me (I can’t call myself an American anymore) is that because it was 6 a.m Madrid time, the airport wasn’t busy. We followed the arrows to get to our next gate. According to the signs, this would take us 26 minutes and required us get on a subway and ride a crap ton of escalators. Again, I got a little reminder of home as a group of what looked to be college students passed by, with one of them wearing an IU hat.

We went through customs — a little intimidating but not a problem — and then had to go through security for the final time. What was different about going through security was it wasn’t as “intense” as security in the States, and you put your boarding pass and passport through with your bags instead of holding onto them the whole time. At home, we are told to hold onto those items, so I was surprised when I had to put them through the conveyor. Well, just my luck, I get to the other side to grab all my items and my boarding pass and passport have already disappeared! Yeah, I started freaking out, asking people around me and trying to think what in the world I was supposed to do about a lost passport (and Italian student visa). I think my boarding pass and passport must have gotten stuck in the conveyor or something (still not really sure what happened) but after I went to ask someone (who you know, didn’t really speak English), an officer found it and called out my name. Luckily that was my only big scare during the trip, well at least so far. I still have more than 90 days to go.

Landing in Bologna, we realized pretty soon the lack of English signage. Many Italians know some English, but it would just be more polite if I knew at least some Italian. For now, I’ve accepted that I’m going to stick out and make some cultural mistakes. Even today while walking, some biker rung his bell and as he passed us, he said “good job.” I don’t know how he could tell we were from the US from our backs, but maybe a couple more weeks walking around Bologna and I’ll figure it out.

It’s not even been a week, but I’m already pretty confused by Italians’ eating schedules. Breakfast, lunch and dinner are only served during select hours of the day at the mensa (dining hall). For instance, breakfast during the week is only served from 7:30-8:45 and dinner is from 7:00-9:00. We aren’t automatically provided lunch so I don’t know if that means Italians have light lunches or what, but I guess I will figure out my own system pretty soon. The first night here, we had dinner in the mensa and then a group of us girls went out to the store and bought some wine. Back home, we probably would have considered the place where we bought the wine as a cheap grocery store or gas station convenience store because of the way it looked, but here it is normal (I guess). It’s funny, because when walking around I realized I could buy either a bottle of wine for €2.50 ($2.80) or a spiral bound notebook for the same price. All I can say is that wine is big here!

Just some random observations:

  • Bologna specifically is known for graffiti, and while in most cities that would be considered trashy, it’s a way for the college students (Bologna has the oldest university in Europe) to express themselves. The graffiti is everywhere, and it’s pretty fun to see.
  • The nights are always active with young people and older people alike. Passing by, you can see a group of people sitting on the street curb sharing a bottle of wine.
  • It’s not unusual to walk into a restaurant and hear State music being played.
  • Italians don’t usually have air conditioning (luckily that isn’t the case for me).
  • Pasta and paninis are eaten all the time. All the time!
  • Bologna is a pretty decent size city, with about 376,00 (larger than Florence by about 15,000), but it isn’t a noisy place. People don’t normally drive but use a bike or moped.
  • You can be given a pitcher of water and a pitcher of wine for a meal.
  • You can’t hail a cab.
  • People really want exact change. You are automatically not liked if you don’t give exact change (and credit cards aren’t used that often, or accepted).
  • Shops close in the middle of the day (siesta time or riposo in Italy) and you can see many people, families, couples and friends just hanging out together during what would be considered a long lunch break (maybe that’s what causes the late dinners).
Leave a Reply

